Uninsured motorist laws are not the same in every state. Maryland law requires that drivers carry uninsured motorist coverage. You must submit proof of insurance when registering your vehicle on an annual basis.
Liability and Uninsured Motorist Limits
Maryland law requires that every driver registered within its boundaries carry the following insurance coverage (deductibles may apply):
- Liability insurance which covers for personal injury or property damage you cause while driving. It also might cover other drivers who have your permission to utilize your vehicle. Check with your insurance to see if other drivers will be covered. Maryland's minimum liability limits are currently $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for personal injury and $15,000 for property damage. You may be able to get more coverage, and that would be a good idea since the minimums will not cover the costs of more severe accidents.
- Uninsured motorist and under-insured motorist coverage which pays for personal injury and property damage caused by the operator of an uninsured or under-insured automobile. This includes hit-and-run drivers under most Maryland insurers. Maryland's uninsured motorist limits are $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for personal injury and $15,000 for property damage. You may be able to increase these amounts depending on your insurance company's policies.
- Personal injury protection pays for medical expenses and other covered costs for the driver and any passengers who are injured for up to $2,500 per person. This coverage may be waived in some instances, so it may not be a "mandatory" coverage under Maryland law.
Penalties for Uninsured Motorists
Potential penalties for not carrying adequate insurance coverage under Maryland law include:
- Court imposed fines.
- Loss of right to vehicle registration and other privileges.
- Uninsured motorist fees can be imposed for each day insurance is not held.
- To regain the right to register a vehicle, the uninsured motorist may be required to pay a fee.
- Confiscation of license plates.
Failure to carry insurance can also leave individuals open to law suits which can result in personal property loss. Not carrying insurance turns out to be a potentially expensive practice.
Getting Legal Help
If you were in an accident and one of the parties was either uninsured or under-insured, contact an attorney today to make sure your rights are protected. An attorney can consult with regarding the likelihood of settlement, the potential amount of compensation and the time frame in which you need to file your claim.