Uninsured motorist laws in the state of Arkansas are in place to protect every driver on the road. While drivers are required to carry liability coverage, there are still individuals who do not and you should make sure your insurance coverage takes into account increasing instances of under-insured drivers.
Arkansas Law: Minimum Insurance Requirements
Arkansas law has minimum insurance required limits. You must carry liability insurance for at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Every Arkansas driver is required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle. Damage in auto accidents can quickly go over the state required minimum coverage. It is a good idea to carry as much insurance as your budget will allow. Damages in auto accident cases include injury, damage to property, medical expenses, lost income and pain and suffering.
If your insurance doesn't cover you adequately and you are involved in an accident, the victim can reach your personal property to satisfy any judgment against you. It is important to properly insure yourself and your property.
Does Your Insurance Protect You Adequately?
While your insurance company is required to offer you no-fault and uninsured motorist coverage in the state of Arkansas, you do not have to accept it. You should consult your insurance policy to find out how much coverage you have and what is included.
If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist and you have opted not to take the coverage offered by your insurance, you will be responsible for any damages to your vehicle and persons in your car, too. The bills for any injuries can pile up quickly. You could be left without a vehicle, with some hefty medical bills and the potential for being sued if other parties were injured and your insurance was inadequate.
Uninsured motorists are often not good targets for seeking compensation. Much of the time, they do not carry insurance because they cannot afford it, which means they probably will not have money to pay any damage claims. It is best to protect yourself with adequate insurance coverage instead of relying on the legal process for compensation.
Getting Legal Assistance
If you were involved in an automobile accident, you may be entitled to compensation for more than just damage to your vehicle. Lost wages, medical bills and pain and suffering are some of the damages received in auto accident cases. You should consult a personal injury attorney to find out whether you are entitled to compensation.